Media Release: Regions big winners of SA election

South Australia’s country areas will benefit from the election of a Marshall Liberal Government with a renewed focus in the state’s rural and regional areas.

Federal Assistant Agriculture and Water Resources Minister Anne Ruston welcomed the appointment of re-elected Member for Chaffey Tim Whetstone as the Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development.

"It’s great to see a farmer in control of agriculture," Minister Ruston said.

"Tim brings the requisite skill set to turn around 16 years of city-centric government, deliver policy settings to improve rural productivity and ensure a greater level of essential government services in regional communities."

Minister Ruston said Mr Whetstone’s role will complement David Ridgway and David Speirs in key portfolio posts.

"David Ridgway as the Trade, Tourism and Investment Minister, and David Speirs as the Environment and Water Minister, will deliver on the Liberals’ commitment for regional SA," Minister Ruston said.

"The reset button has been pushed – it’s now time to get to work."


tags:  news feature