Media Release: Mayo councils to share in over $3 million for local roads

The Turnbull Government will provide an additional $40 million, including at least $3 million in the electorate of Mayo, over the next two years in South Australia to help with critical road network upgrades.

Senator for South Australia Anne Ruston said the supplementary funding was on top of grants the Turnbull Government had already given the state under the Financial Assistance and Roads to Recovery programs.

“This extra $40 million will be distributed to every one of South Australia’s 68 Councils as well as five Aboriginal communities, via the State Government,” Senator Ruston said.

“The payments will be fast-tracked so that works can starts on road improvements as soon as possible.

“The Alexandrina, Adelaide Hills, Mount Barker, Victor Harbour, Yankalilla, Onkaparinga and Kangaroo Island Councils will be able to use the money they receive as they see fit, whether that is for new roads, increasing capacity on existing roads or for general safety improvements.

“By providing funding directly to the councils, we are putting power back in their hands and giving them the ability to identify and prioritise the roads they need fixed.

“We want all want safe and reliable traffic conditions on our roads. It’s fantastic that the Turnbull Government has provided this funding for our regional areas.”

Individual local government allocations are recommended by the South Australian Local Government Grants Commission.

Mayo councils set to receive:

  • Alexandrina Council: $292,680
  • Mount Barker District Council: $286,386
  • Adelaide Hills Council: $707,735
  • City of Victor Harbour Council: $583,926
  • District Council of Yankalilla: $77,002
  • Kangaroo Island Council: $198,999
  • City of Onkaparinga: $1,540,379
tags:  news feature